skip navigation

Rules Question of the Day

Video of the Day

This link will take you to videos with wrestling situations.

Officials Education Program (OEP)

Clinics and training opportunities for USA Officials

Art of Refereeing Handbook

A handbook developed for the official new to Greco and Freestyle officiating.

09 JUL 19. Rules Question of the Day.

09 JUL 19. Rules Question of the Day. When evaluating the action, what three things should you ask yourself?

09 JUL 19.

ANSWER.

  1. Did the action start Standing or Parterre?

  2. Was it Grand Amp?

  3. Did it land in Danger?

 

08 JUL 19. Rules Question of the Day. GRECO-ROMAN.

Yes or No.  During the bout, the Referee offers a RO+B2.  This is Red’s second defensive leg foul.  The Judge white paddles the call.  The Chairman confirms the call. Only the Referee and Chairman agree with the call. The Chairman stops the bout and announces Red is disqualified from the bout.   Is this correct procedure?

08 JUL 19.

ANSWER: Article 52.  Yes.  On the second defensive leg foul, the guilty wrestler will lose the concerned bout. It does not require all three to unanimously agree.

Richard Chamberlain · yes

04 JUL 19. Rules Question of the Day.

True or False.  In parterre, you should only give the offensive wrestler 10 seconds to score and then stop the bout and restart in the standing position. 

04 JUL 19.

ANSWER: Article 45.  False.  There is no time limit.  After a “reasonable” period of time, if the offensive wrestler is unable to initiate an action, stop the bout and restart in a standing position.

Coach Conway · False. UWW article 45 only says "the referee stops the bout after a reasonable period of time and has the wrestlers resume the bout in a standing position." The norm is to let them work a "reasonable" amount of time after a takedown BUT after a foul, I've been told, they get 30 seconds to work. Interesting note, UWW 45 also states that the top man cannot ask to be put up to standing or do nothing on top. Maybe we should let that happen less...

Walter "Geoff" Weichelt · Agree. At Final-X the Flo commentators kept track of the Greco forced parterre time and it seemed to range from low of 17 seconds to max 25 second with most matches landing between 20-23 seconds down.

03 JUL 19. Rules Question of the Day.

The wrestlers are near the edge.  Red steps into the protection area and the referee points at the step out.  The referee does not blow the whistle, holds up B1 and tells Red to work back to the center. Is this correct procedure?

03 JUL 19.

ANSWER.  Article 29.   No.  Since Red stepped into the protection area and did not complete an attack, the referee should point at the step out, pause, then blow the whistle stopping the action.  Restart in the center of the mat.

Richard Chamberlain · No, Correct procedure is to point to the step out and if no continuous action, blow the whistle stop the match and signal B1.

Coach Conway · No. Correct procedure is to point, hold whistle, and wait to see if red immediately can score. If red doesn’t score, blow whistle, award B1, and herd them back into the center. If Red scores immediately on the step out then blow whistle, award points, and herd back to center.

 

02 JUL 19. Rules Question of the Day.

You are the Chairman.  The Referee just offered a third caution on Blue.  The Judge white paddled the call.  You agree with the caution.  Can you disqualify Blue?

02 JUL 19.

ANSWER: Article 30. No. A wrestler receiving 3 cautions during a match is disqualified.  3rd caution must be given unanimously by the refereeing body.

Joel Sturtevant · Article 30: The third caution must be given unanimously by the refereeing body. The chairman may wish to call a conference to discuss the caution/foul with the judge, but I believe the third caution must be unanimous.

Richard Chamberlain · Joel, understand and guess I should have explained better. Chairman should call for a conference to see what the judge saw that he gave a white paddle and if the judge changes his call Blue would be disqualified.

Richard Chamberlain Yes. chairman most confirm all cautions and as the chairman agrees with the caution. Chairman should signal referee to stop match and declare Red the winner.

01 JUL 19. Rules Question of the Day. FREESTYLE.

The score is R2-B3. With 13 seconds remaining in the bout, the referee team unanimously agrees and confirms Blue is passive.  The referee team awards BO+R1.  The bout ends R3-B3. Red wins on criteria.  Blue’s coach throws in the brick challenging the passivity.  Is this an acceptable challenged?

 

?

01 JUL 19.

ANSWER: Articles 32 & 47.  No.  The referee team was technically correct as all three members of the referee team agreed and even though the points determined the winner of the bout, the points were posted prior to the end of the bout.  No challenge can be requested after the end of the regular time of a period, except when the points are added to the scoreboard after the referee’s whistle or in case action occurred just before the time is over.  Blue’s coach should have challenged prior to the end of the bout.  When less than 30 seconds remains in a bout and the refereeing body agrees unanimously that one of the wrestlers is passive, they may issue 1 caution to the wrestler at fault for fleeing-the-hold and 1 point to his opponent. Should this point determine the winner of the match, the other wrestler may request a challenge. If the score change after the bout has ended, the coach may request a challenge.

Richard Chamberlain · The challenge should not be accepted after the end of the bout. Challenge should have been offered at the 13 second mark but passivity is not challengeable.

Walter "Geoff" Weichelt · The challenge should not be accepted on three points. 1. You can not challenge passivity calls 2. 5 seconds had elapsed from from the points being added to the official scoreboard 3. You can not challenge after the end of regular time in a period.

Walter "Geoff" Weichelt · That being said a passive call with 13 seconds remaining would be extremely difficult to stand behind negative wrestling would be a stronger call. Also if the criteria was a caution against blue for the passivity B0-R1 that shouldn't be, rather just R1, and that would be open for challenge or protest.

27 JUN 19. Rules Question of the Day.

You are the CHAIRMAN.  During a bout, Red is executing a trapped arm gut wrench on Blue. During the gut wrench, Red pauses on his/her back. Then Red completes the turn. During the pause, the Referee observes Red’s shoulders in contact with the mat and signals for the fall. What is your call?

27 JUN 19.

ANSWER: Articles 39 & 43. I look at the referee and shake my head “NO.”  I’m careful not to do anything that would cause the referee to think I’m confirming the fall.  No Defensive Falls. R2 for the gut wrench.

Joel Sturtevant · Easiest way for me to think about this .... you must circle the scoring action that led to the fall on the bout sheet... no score... no fall  The only thing to add... and this is no mentioned in the text of the scenario is if blue does take and action (uses free arm to grab and lift red heads, hooks and splits both of reds legs etc etc) and scores a counter / exposure to danger. That situation would give blue a score and a reason for the chairman to confirm a fall.

Walter "Geoff" Weichelt · Decline the fall blue must score in some fashion and become the offensive wrestler as there are no defensive pins in Freestyle or Greco

Joel Sturtevant · Agree - blue must score to be awarded a fall

Coach Conway · Agreed. If red doesn’t start defending something from blue’s counter it cannot be a fall.

 

26 JUN 19.  Rules Question of the Day

True of False.  The Judge is required to confirm all passivity.

26 JUN 19.

ANSWER: Article 47.  False.  The Mat Chairman must confirm all passivity in both Freestyle and Greco-Roman. 

Coach Conway · False - Judge can always offer his opinion but cannot confirm passivity, caution, or fall. That being said, isn’t it best practice to hold up a passivity paddle if you agree with the whistle and the team is visually in agreement? Or is it better to not offer an opinion when the whistle asks for passivity and just stay out of it?

Walter "Geoff" Weichelt · Personally I feel it looks better when all three appear to be on the same page. That being said I wouldn't just follow, I always want to call my own match from the judges table.

Joel Sturtevant False - the chairman must confirm all passivity. Judge can offer passivity, and the chairman can confirm. But the chairman must confirm alL passivity calls

25 JUN 19. Rules Question of the Day. FREESTYLE.

Red attacks and has Blue in a Quadpod near the edge.  Blue pauses, then turns and places one hand and one foot in the protection area.  The referee team confirmed BO-R1 for Fleeing the Mat.  What position should the wrestlers be restarted?

25 JUN 19.

ANSWER.  Article 29.  Since there was no takedown awarded, Blue fled the mat in the standing position.  The wrestlers should be restarted in the standing position.

Richard Chamberlain · Standing per the description of Red attacking and Blue defending. A lot of good explanations below and as Joel said, Geoff nailed it.

Coach Conway · I think it depends on the action happening prior to Red going behind and attacking Blue's quad pod position. Control is not the determining factor, it is whether or not ground wrestling had been established or not. There is a great explanation and example in the rule book in the second bullet of page 9 of a similar situation with a front headlock. If ground wrestling had been established prior to the quadpod, then they'd start back in par terre. If ground wrestling HAD NOT been established they'd return to standing. 

Walter "Geoff" Weichelt · Standing My understanding of the quadpod; It is neither standing or parterre, but an extension of where the action came from. If we are standing and go to a quadpod we are still standing, (4pts are capable feet to danger). Once we have a takedown the quadpod becomes parterre. I.e. the bottom wrestler is defending a guy wrench with the quadpod we are in par terre (2pts for a turn).

Joel Sturtevant · ↑ Exactly ↑  Geoff was more eloquent but this is what I was trying to establish.... quadpod is the position that you came from to achieve it.

Joel Sturtevant · Most likely standing, as a quad pod is considered standing position. however, it is possible they would return parterre if the quad pod is a result of red lifting blue from parterre. By the wording red attacks I am thinking the wrestlers were standing so they return standing after the foul.

24 JUN 19. Rules Question of the Day.

No takedown has been scored.  The wrestlers are on the mat scrambling to score.  During the scramble, Blue commits an illegal action.  The referee points at the foul and signals caution.  When the action stops, the Referee team confirms BO-R1.  Since no takedown had occurred, what position do you restart the wrestlers?

24 JUN 19.

ANSWER.  PARTERRE.  Since the foul occurred in parterre positon, the action should restart in parterre.  A takedown or no takedown is irrelevant. If a foul occurs in the standing position, restart the action standing. Where did the foul occur?  That is position your return the wrestlers.

Joel Sturtevant · Restart where the foul occurred, if par terre has been established in the scramble when the foul occurred restart par terre. If the wrestlers were scrambling on the mat and then re established standing before the foul and the foul occurred standing, restart standing.

Walter "Geoff" Weichelt Restart "par terre" no takedown or control is necessary