The purpose of this page is to view and comment about wrestling situations as to how the rule(s) were applied and stimulate good conversation. You will only be able to comment on the current day's video. You can view comments on the older videos but not write comments. Comments will be viewed and reviewed by Tim Pierson, Zach Errett, and Casey Brennan Goessl, USWOA Board Members and UWW Officials.
Good Morning All
09 July 2019 was our last video and rules question session for this year. On behalf of Mr. Rick Tucci and the entire USWOA Executive Board, we would like to thank each of you for your support and participation in our daily “What is your call” video and “Rules Question” sessions. We hope our daily sessions were challenging, educational and as much of a benefit for you as they were for us.
Our daily sessions began on 12 February 2019 and it has been quite an educational journey. We analyzed and discussed 86 situational videos and rules questions on our USWOA webpage and USWOA Facebook page. What’s truly amazing, in just two short years, we have had over a half a million views. That is pretty awesome!
The overall goal of our forum was not to determine who was right or wrong, but rather “why” you made the call. We may not have always agreed with the scoring solutions, and that's ok, as many of our situations potentially had more than one scoring solution. Your analysis and open dialogue was impressive and educational for everyone involved.
Again, Thank You and we’ll see you on the mats.
Tim J. Pierson
United States Wrestling Officials Association (USWOA)
MY OPINION R2-B1-R1. As the Jury, I would confirm R2-B1-R1. Blue attacks with a single-leg. While on the mat, Red is able to scramble and work himself into a dominant position. Although not meeting criteria for a takedown, Red pulls Blue back into danger. R2. Blue immediately counter-attacks and completes a reversal. I would not give B2 as Red placed himself in danger and immediately took himself out of danger. Blue loses the challenge. R1 Keep Blue’s challenge block. Tim Pierson.
Walter "Geoff" Weichelt ·R2-B2 Blue gets the block back.
MY OPINION R2. As the Referee, I would offer R2. Red attacks with a gut wrench. As Red works for the turn, Blue very quickly reaches back and posts his right arm to prevent going into danger. However, Red did complete the turn. R2. I would not call a leg foul on Blue as the leg touch was incidental contact. Tim Pierson
Thomas Hirsch · B0 B2 - Leg foul on Blue, no exposure, restart in par terre.
Richard Chamberlain · BO R2 R2 Restart parterre. While red is turning blue, blue hooks red with his leg for a leg foul. Red still turns blue for R2.
MY OPINION B2. As the Chairman, I would confirm B2. Red attempts to throw Blue. However, Blue catches Red in the standing position and take him to the mat. B2. This is not a slip throw. Tim Pierson.
Coach Conway · White paddle and verbal confirmation for the referee's benefit. Blue's head does pop out but after they hit the ground and only in a counter measure and not a counter-attack effort.
Richard Chamberlain · White paddle, slip throw. All red's effort, blue did nothing but fall on Red.
MY OPINION WHITE PADDLE-NO POINTS. As the Judge, I would offer White Paddle-No Points. Both wrestlers were in parterre when they entered the protection area. Neither wrestler was on a dominant position. No Points. Tim Pierson
Richard Chamberlain · They are on the mat in ground wrestling so no 1 for going into the protection area. When Red drives Blue out, you can't tell from the angle if Blue landed in danger. White Paddle.
Coach Conway As judge I would offer a white paddle and signal that ground wrestling had been established. I don’t think there was exposure or control for a takedown...even a lenient takedown out of bounds. It can’t be a 1 out of bounds because if the established ground wrestling.
MY OPINION B4-B2-R1-R2. As the Jury, I would confirm B4-B2-R1-R2. Red begins and attack with a head and arm throw. Blue Body locks Red and throws him in the opposite direction into danger. B4. Blue then immediately turns Blue. B2. As Blue attempts another turn, Red is able to counter-attack, stopping Blue’s action. Red then attacks and completes a reversal and then a very quick turn. R1-R2. Red wins the challenge. Return the challenge block to Red. Tim Pierson
Walter "Geoff" Weichelt ·Red starts the action with a head lock but it is taken away by blue with a feet to danger "4" Red gets to his belly before Blue takes him back to the left with a gut wrench for "2" Red doesn't get back to his initial position before blue attempts to go back to the right then loses momentum and Red escapes out front. Blue then leg fouls Red. In my opinion red completes his reversal "1" and then completes a turn "2" B4-B2-R1-R2-B0-R2 Restart in Parterre R/B
Joel Sturtevant · As the Jury I would confirm B4, B2, Blue Attention (or B0-R1), B0-R2, R2 Restart Blue on the bottom in par terre.
What a flurry for Greco! - So my opinion.... We have a lot of action, and a lot of fouls.... The blue counter attack is feet to danger, B4. Then Blue executes a gut wrench- B2, Blue then lifts his leg at 0:11 in the video. He has already scored the danger, but now commits a foul. He is still the attacking wrestlers and I would give this the benefit of the doubt to be an of… Read More
Joel Sturtevant · Red won the challenge so red gets the brick back
Richard Chamberlain · Joel I see the hands by the feet but do not see where blue grabs or posts off of red's ankle or other parts. his habds are down towards the mat and he does not attempt to grab the legs and in my opinion it is inadvertent contact as red is moving his legs under blue in the headlock position to try and turn him. Blue's palms stay down towards the mat the entire time except when Blue ws being turned.
Joel Sturtevant · Richard he does stay palm down, but if you look he uses the back of his wrist to create pressure against the ankle... I recognize this because I used to do it as a cadet to avoid getting lifted, and got away with it a lot of the time LOL
Richard Chamberlain ·B4 B2 R2 B1 Red loses brick. Blue took Red feet to back B4, Blue turned red B2, Red does not cover the hips but turns Blue R2. Red loses challenge B1.
MY OPINION NO POINTS-SLIP THROW. As the Chairman, I would confirm No Points-Slip Throw. As both wrestlers were pummeling for position, Red attacks with an arm throw. Red goes straight to parterre, without any counter-action from Blue. Only after Red was in parterre did Blue counter-attack. White Paddle-Slip Throw-No Points. Restart standing. Tim Pierson
Richard Chamberlain · White paddle. Slip throw. Blue did nothing but fall on top of red following red's attempt
Walter "Geoff" Weichelt ·Would like to have seen a leg foul offered on blue. Conference about the leg foul and if the crew decided against it then white paddle no points restart standing.
MY OPINION SLIP THROW NO POINTS (BO-R2). As the Chairman, I would immediately call a quick conference. I would explain to my crew. As Red began to throw Blue. Blue reached across Red’s chest with his right arm and grabbed Red’s singlet. This prevented Red from getting full extension and completing the throw. BO-R2. If my crew does not agree and stands firm, then I will confirm White Paddle-No Points. Tim Pierson
Joel Sturtevant · I would confirm slip throw no points - resume wrestling standing. Red executes the throw blue does not counter attack and get behind until red has already reached par terre.
Walter "Geoff" Weichelt ·Does Red expose his back to his opponent or the mat? "Yes" 2. Does he make it to parterre before his opponent makes any counter attack or action? "Yes" RISK White Paddle restart standing
MY OPINION SLIP THROW-NO POINTS. As the Judge, I would offer White Paddle-Slip Throw. As both wrestlers were pummeling for position, Blue attacks with an arm throw. Blue goes straight to parterre, without any counter-action from Red. Only after Blue was in parterre did Red counter-attack. White Paddle-Slip Throw-No Points. Restart standing. Tim Pierson
gavin weichelt · 1. Does Blue expose his back to his opponent or the mat? "Yes" 2. Does he make it to parterre before his opponent make any counter attack or action? "Yes" RISK White Paddle
Coach Conway My gut is its a R2 because he went to his knees first and it was a pretty ugly attempt. That being said, as judge in a finals match, I would offer the white paddle - slip option and give it to the chair to decide.
Joel Sturtevant · As the judge I would offer white paddle, slip throw. Blue does pause on his knees very briefly but I don’t feel that red did anything to catch blue.
MY OPINION B2-B2-B1. As the Jury, I would confirm B2-B2. Red attempts to throw Blue. However, Blue catches Red in the standing position and take him to the mat. B2. This is not a slip throw. Blue then turns Red. B2. Red loses the challenge. B1. Red loses the challenge block. Tim Pierson.
Richard Chamberlain · Slip Throw. Red gets the brick back. All Red's risk. He went to his belly and Blue did nothing except follow him down. There was a slight pause but it was still Red's action. He did not bail, reward the risk.
Coach Conway · The team was correct and I would award another B1 for red losing the challenge. Its pretty clear that Blue holds red in the are for a period of time before the go down to the mat. While risk was taken by red, red was still caught mid air so cannot be awarded a slip.
Joel Sturtevant · As the jury I would confirm B2-B2-b1. Blue catches red when red attempts the throw, red does not go straight to his stomach. There is a pause in the action with red suspended in the air. I see no fouls. B2. The gut is B2. Red looses the challenge B1 and red looses the brick.
Walter "Geoff" Weichelt ·Agree with Joel
MY OPINION R1. As the referee, I would offer R1. Blue was pushing Red towards the protection area. As they reached the edge, Red twisted which caused Blue to enter the protection area first. After they were in the protection area, Blue counter-attacked. This is not possible as you cannot counter-attack while in the protection area R1. Tim Pierson
Joel Sturtevant · I would offer R1, it was reds attack that caused blue to go to the protection area. Both of blue knees land in the protection area. Blue cannot get a takedown when he did not step into the protection area under his own power, but was instead thrown there (he did land on both knees so this is not R2 correct throw)
Walter "Geoff" Weichelt R1 Blue land on both knees in the protection area prior to red touching any points of contact. No takedown for blue as I feel there was a pause as well as a change in direction while he waited for red to land.