skip navigation

Award-Upgrade Recipients

2023 USWOA Awards Winners


Rick Tucci, Official of the Year Award

To the individual who in the previous year has demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities at the state, regional, national and international levels;  has demonstrated a high degree of knowledge and skills in the area of mat officiating or pairings and has contributed to the development of officials within the organization.

Nick Kindred, CA 2022

Nick Kindred, CA 2022

Jim Speelman, OHn 2021

Jason Babi, CO 2019

Jason Babi, CO 2019

Dave Errett Award

(Formally the Phil Portuese Award)

To an individual who has gone above and beyond the normal to teach to the art of officiating.  Presented in recognition of outstanding leadership and contributions in the training of new officials and the development of young athletes.

Robert Vallarelli, OH 2022

Robert Vallarelli, OH 2022

Sam Julian, PA 2021

Tim Pierson, VA 2019

Zach Errett Award

(Formally the Glen Blackman Award)

Presented to the new official who is working to improve and for recognition of outstanding accomplishments as a mat official and contributions to USA Wrestling.

Rick Schwab, MO 2022

Tim Condit, IL 2021

Susanna Sylstad, WA 2019

Alice Riggle Award

(Formally the Ivan Olson Award)
(Volunteer Pairer of the Year)
Presented to a pairer who has dedicated years of service at the local, state, national levels and in recognition of their dedication and contributions to the field of pairings and to USA Wrestling.

Paula Rider, WI 2022

Marcia Gould, NY 2021

Mark Bullingon, IL 2019

Bernie Norris Memorial Award

(Pairing Master of the Year)

Selected each year by the Pairings Advisory Board in recognition of outstanding accomplishments and contributions to the field of pairings and to USA Wrestling.

LeeAnn Johnson, WA, 2022

Debbie Kelly, ID 2021

Sherry Bullard, WA 2019

Bill Stecklein Award

(Formally the Mort Geller Award)

To an individual who has demonstrated outstanding officiating skills on the International level and who is recognized as an outstanding clinician on the national level. The recipient will have contributed to the development of the USWOA's UWW mat officials.This individual will be considered a "mentor to the mentors"

Cody Hesser, LA 2022

Jason Babi, CO 2021

Sam Julian, PA 2019

Dick Riggle Memorial Award

Cadet Nationals Outstanding Official

Awarded to the official who had an outstanding tournament at the Cadet National Tournament

Sergio Cortez, CA 2022

Charlie Knox, KS 2021

M.T. Ayers, WA 2019

M.T. Ayers, WA 2019

Tom Clark Award

Awarded to the official who had an outstanding tournament at the Cadet/Junior Greco Tournament

Garrett Pikul, KY 2022

Robert Lugo, UST 2021

Mark Anderson, KA 2019

Santos Cageao Award

Awarded to the official who had an outstanding tournament at the Cadet/Junior Freestyle Tournament

Andrew Mullet, LA 2022

Noah Clary, OH 2021

Fan Zhang, CA 2019

Sheila Wager Award

Women's National Outstanding Official

Toska Adams Award

Outstanding Official In a Women's Wrestling Event

Jessica Killerlain, WI 2022

Morgana Landrum, IN 2021

Brian Davis, FL 2019

Sheila Wager Award

Women's Nationals Outstanding Official

14U National Duals Award

Hesser Family Outstanding Official Award

Colton Miller, ID 2023

Christian Almony, MD 2022

Brett Van Vooren, WI 2021

16U Dual Outstanding Official Awards

Toby Tobiasson, Greco Award

Chris Kelly, NC 2022

Mark Hall, ID 2021

16U Dual Outstanding Official Awards

Mo Babi,  Freestyle Award

William Nicely, IN 2023

Cristian, Dixon, MO

Brook Richards, OH 2021

Junior Duals Awards

Cliff Buerke, Belinda Brown, Bobby Walton,         Cherie Elvin Awards

Adam Venegas, KS (Cliff Buerke-Outstanding Greco Official) 2021

Charles Carnahan (Belinda Brown Outstanding Women's Official) 2021

Lewis Baker, MI (Bobby Walton Outstanding Freestyle Official) 2021

Cliff Ramos, IL (Cliff Buerke-Outstanding Greco Official) 2019

Rob Crowe, MN (Belinda Brown Outstanding Women's Official) 2019

Robyn Vanhouten, MI (Bobby Walton Outstanding Freestyle Official) 2019

Lifetime Achievement Awards

Awarded to USWOA members who have given significantly to the betterment of amateur wrestling.

Donna Strobel, 2021

John Robinson, HI 2021

"Big Al" Williams, IL. 2021

2021 Lifetime Achievement

Stacey Davis, GA 2021

Toska Adams, KT 2021

Bill Grant, FL

Photo Unavailable


Jeff Jones, WI 2021

Debbie Kallai, OH. 2021

Ed Hanley, MA 2021

Roy Scott, NY 2020

M.T. Ayers, WA 2020

Mark Anderson, KS 2020

Marcia Gould, NY 2020

Micheal Jordan, DE 2020

2020 Lifetime Achievement Awards

Mark Bullingtion, IL 2020

Paul Kieblesz, NY 2020

Debbie Kelly, ID 2020

Rob Wiggs, SC 2020

Jim Toyota, AZ 2020

Robert Wood, VA 2020

Glenn Goessl, WI 2020

Joe Silvestri, PA 2020

Janice Stinson, LA 2020

Tom Kuisle, MN 2019

Pat Babi, CO 2019

2019 Lifetime Achievement Awards

Frank Gamma, CA 2019

Fidel Albelo, FL 2019

Linda Kuisle, MN 2019

Jay Terry, WA 2019

Ashlee Sherman, CA

Sherry Bullard, WA

2018 Lifetime Achievement Awards

Bill Harper, MO

John Welch, NJ

Jerry Kuntz, OK

Jean Whetstone,,IN