skip navigation

Rules Video

Rule Question of the Day

Link to questions on rules for Greco and Freestyle competitions.

Officials Education Program (OEP)

Clinics and training opportunities for USAW Officials

The Art of Refereeing

A handbook developed for the official new to Greco and Freestyle officiating.


Video of the Day

The purpose of this page is to view and comment about wrestling situations as to how the rule(s) were applied and stimulate good conversation. You will only be able to comment on the current day's video.  You can view comments on the older videos but not write comments.  Comments will be viewed and reviewed by Tim Pierson, Zach Errett, and Casey Brennan Goessl.  USWOA Board Members and UWW Officials. 


23 Jun 17. You are the JURY. The Referee team confirmed R4-B2. What is your call?

22 Jun 17. You are the JURY. The Referee team confirmed “No Points.” What is your call?

22 Jun 17 Video

ANSWER.  My opinion.  As the Jury, I would confirm “White Paddle and B1.  No points as Red had Blue in a quadpod and at no time did Blue’s knee, elbow, or head did not make contact with the mat.  B1=Red loses the challenge.  Tim Pierson

22 Jun 17 Video responses

David Ameiss · White Paddle, no takedown, plus B1 for the lost challenge

Thomas Hirsch · Confirm no points, B1 for losing challenge. No knee, head or elbow of defense wrestler touches the mat.

Timothy Hessing · about 20 hours ago No call, blue in quad pod whole time no knees or head touches mat.

21 Jun 17. You are the REFEREE. What is your call?

Jun 17 Video

ANSWER.  My opinion.  I would offer R4-BO-R2.  R4= Red attacks with a body lock.  Blue attempts a desperation throw and lands on his back out of bounds.  BO=Blue grabs Red’s singlet attempting to prevent Red from stepping in and securing the body lock.  R2= points for Blue’s illegal action. Tim Pierson

21 Jun 17 Video response

Timothy Hessing · R4, red stepa in and gets lo lock then blue tries throw after red already established.

20 Jun 17. You are the JURY. The Referee team confirmed R4. What is your call?

20 Jun 17 Video

ANSWER.  My opinion.  As the Jury, I would call R4-R1.  Red throws Blue into the protection area.  In a continuous motion, Blue rolls to his back. R1=Blue loses the challenge.  Tim Pierson

 

20 Jun 17 Video responses

Thomas Hirsch · I would confirm R4 & R1 for losing the challenge.

Timothy Hessing · R4 (confirmed) and R1 for.losing challenge. Only alternative is possible R5

19 Jun 17. You are the JUDGE. The action going into the Protection Area, the Referee offered R1. What is your call?

19 Jun 17 Video.

ANSWER.  My opinion.  As Judge, I would offer R2 for the takedown in the protection area.

19 Jun 17 Video response

Timothy Hessing · B1

17 Jun 17. You are the JURY. Referee team confirmed R1. What is your call?

17 Jun 17 Video

ANSWER.  My opinion.  As the Jury, I would call R4.  R4=Standing to danger.  Red was the aggressor and drove Blue to the edge.  Blue attempted a bail out throw to prevent going into the protection area and landed on his back. Tim Pierson

17 Jun 17 Video responses

No responses.

16 Jun 17. You are the JURY. The Referee team confirmed R2-R2-B1. What is your call?

16 Jun 17 Video

ANSWER.  My opinion.   As the JURY, I would confirm R2-R2-B1 & R1.  R2=Red chest locks Blue and turns him into danger.  R2=Red retains the chest lock and turns Blue into danger a second time.  B1=Reversal.  R1=Blue loses the challenge.  Tim Pierson

16 Jun 17 Video responses

Timothy Hessing · I agree with Dave R2-R2-B1 and R1 for losing the challenge

David Ameiss · R2 R2 B1 plus R1 for the lost challenge.

Thomas Hirsch · B2-R2-B1. The first turn was initiated by Blue when he trapped Red's wrist and rolled him into danger. The Red turn and Blue reversal are clear scoring actions.

15 Jun 17 You are the REFEREE. What is your call?

15 Jun 17 Video

ANSWER.  My opinion.  As Referee, I would offer R2-R2-B1.  R2=Takedown.  R2=Taking Blue into danger.  B1=Red Slip Throw, no points.  However, Red landed in the protection area. Tim Pierson

15 Jun 17 Video responses

Thomas Hirsch · I have R2 TD, R2 turn and no scoring at the edge. Blue stepped out before the reversal and I didn't see it as continuing action.

Timothy Hessing · R2 takedown (knee is down) - R2 turn and B1 for red going out of bounds

David Ameiss · R2 B1. In the initial sequence, Blue did not have 3 points of contact on the mat. Red then turned Blue for R2. They then came to their feet and Red went into the protection area.

14 Jun 17. You are the JUDGE. Referee called B2. What is your call?

14 Jun 17 Video

ANSWER:  As Judge, I would offer B1.  Red slip throw into the protection area, no points.  B1=Red landing in the protection area.  Tim Pierson.

14 Jun 17 Video responses

No responses

13 Jun 17. You are the JUDGE. The Referee offered “No Points”. What is your call?

13 Jun 17 Video

ANSWER:  My opinion.  As Judge, I would offer R1.  The action was continuous and went into the protection area.  R1=Blue’s head touched the protection area first.  Tim Pierson

13 Jun 17 Video response

David Ameiss · R1, as Blue's head hit in the protection area, from an action which started standing.

12 Jun 17. You are the CHAIRMAN. Referee offered B2-B2, Judge offered B2-RO-B2. What is your call?

12 Jun 17 Video

ANSWER.  My opinion.  As the Chairman, I would call a very quick conference.  I would offer B2-RO-B2-B2.  B2=Turned Red into danger.  RO=Red caution for two hands on the head. B2=Points for Red’s illegal hands on the head. B2=Blue completed the turn into danger.  I would express to my team that Blue completed the turn with the hands on the head and another 2 points should have been awarded.  Restart in parterre, Blue on top/Red on bottom. Tim Pierson.

12 Jun 17 Video response

David Ameiss · I'd call a conference, asking if the Judge's R0 was for Red's two hands on the head. If so, I'd ask if it shouldn't be B2 for the first turn, R0 B2 for the foul, and another B2 for the second turn.
If the Judge offered the R0 for a leg foul, I'd call B2 B2, as I thought the leg contact was incidental. But I'd first ask if it were possible that Red had both hands on Blue's head, in which case it should be B2 R0 B2 B2.